DM2 tickover

Featured Posts

Hi all

So first 'problem'. Ran the RN this evening and found the tickover high, as picked up on the survey. On advice from another DM owner adjusted it down and all seemed fine. However, whilst getting on with other things found the rpm would increase again randomly. Pushing the lever as if to stop the engine brought it back again but same thing happened several times. Any ideas? Setting off tomorrow morning so will see if it affects cruising and report back.

Thanks

Richard

When you say it increased, by how much?

They do tend to fluctuate a little (well mine does anyway) but only by about 40-50rpm while ticking over out of gear.

Give it a good run tomorrow and listen while in gear under load and you may find you are worrying about nothing.

Do bear in mind I'm not an expert on RN internals, not even an amateur mechanic!!!

Hi all

So first 'problem'. Ran the RN this evening and found the tickover high, as picked up on the survey. On advice from another DM owner adjusted it down and all seemed fine. However, whilst getting on with other things found the rpm would increase again randomly. Pushing the lever as if to stop the engine brought it back again but same thing happened several times. Any ideas? Setting off tomorrow morning so will see if it affects cruising and report back.

Thanks

Richard

Does it change if you rock the boat?

Also bear in mind any electrical load cutting in and out....it's quite a high geared alternator.

My JP does vary as well...it's actually more noticeable when the engine is very lightly loaded....eg in neutral with little loading from the alternator,......you learn to live with it!

Cheers

Gareth

When you say it increased, by how much?

They do tend to fluctuate a little (well mine does anyway) but only by about 40-50rpm while ticking over out of gear.

Give it a good run tomorrow and listen while in gear under load and you may find you are worrying about nothing.