dead bmc engine

Featured Posts

Please Help !!!! Last Sept. my bmc engine died. The "experts" removed the engine, have had it since then, with a big lump of my money in order to rebuild it, which they are supposed to have done. It's not back in the boat yet, as it's still not working. They say that the problem is getting the fuel through. If it was a land vehicle they'd get it going by push starting it or something - I'm no mechanic! - so I don't know whether this is just flannel from them, or whether it is really a problem. Does anyone out there know? Chas

It's not rocket science, and I would be getting very suspicious. A proper re-build would include a new lift pump, together with the injectors and injection pump being serviced (professionaly). The fuel filter head should also be cleaned and a new filter fitted. There is nothing else that would prevent the fuel from getting into the combustion chamber, apart from blocked fuel pipes and that is easy to remedy by replacing them (they are not expensive)

The story about bump starting it if it was in a road vehicle is rubbish. The lift pump and injection pump are both operated when the engine is cranked, and it is easy to check each stage of the fuel delivery. I am afraid that they are either not very competent or may be winding you up.

How much are they charging for this re-build?

They are telling you 'The three bears'. You need to take a tough line with them, begin litigation it is unlikely anyting else will work at this stage.

Absolutely - its not even in the boat so it's nothing to do with the tank or pipework.

They could/should be using a small high level tank to supply fuel by gravity so unless the lift pump is totally gummed up there is no reason for it not to work - assuming they have put it back together correctly. If they have the two pipes between the filter head and lift pump wrong then they would be trying to get fuel past a non-return valve in the wrong direction.