£18000 budget first time liveaboard wanted. Key things to ask.

LouBLou

Featured Posts

Hi

I will have an 18000 budget for a liveaboard. I am completely new to narrowboats, but obviously have been trying to do some research. I want a more outdoor lifestyle for my son (15) and myself. I have seen how important regular blacking and boat service are when looking for a new home. Im a bit confused about the electrics, to be honest. The boat would be moored during the week and taken out weekends. With a 15 year old he will want his laptop, small tv, fridge. I have viewed a well looked after 42ft (i know not big, but had plenty of storage and 2 separate sleeping spaces (bedroom and front room) the electrics were 12v, The couple said they hadn't needed a fridge as was draining the batteries (1 starter, 2 leisure). What would be my options and rough cost of running 2 laptops, 2 phones, a fridge and small tv? mifi? What else would you look for when boat shopping? Is the age of the boat a big deal?

Would appreciate any help

Lou :)

If you have 240 volts available from a shore supply while you're moored, then the cost will be minimal. If you need to run a generator, allow about a pound an hour for fuel and bear in mind the 20:00 until 08:00 period when it's generally forbidden to run a generator of boat engine for battery charging. Some places limit it to no more than an hour at a time.

From 12 volts, laptops will draw between 3 and 10 amps, depending on screen size and speed, phones will draw half an amp for two hours or so while charging, mifi the same, the fridge and TV will be your biggest drain, but the actual drain will vary widely between models, with 240 volt TVs running off an inverter drawing most of all.

Welcome to the forum and as is 'oft quoted' you have come to the right place.

Just a suggestion :