Buying a narrow boat

RhiannonBryony

Featured Posts

Hello, I have just stumbled upon this forum, which is a fabulous wealth of information- really helpful, thank you all.

My partner and I really want to live on the canals, and have been lusting over online ads for boats for the past year, whilst saving like crazy. We particularily want to cruise continuously, we are both nomads at heart and our work gives us the freedom to live wherever we want. I have always wanted to explore the UK by boat and although my canal experience is minimal I have lived aboard sailing boats in the past for long periods of time (for work- I am a freelance chef) and my OH has been a long distance lorry driver for most of his life (living in a cab for months at a time), and neither of us has had a base for the last five years- so a place of our own, without buying into the mortgage game, that we can move whenever we want, is extremely appealing to us.

My worry is this- we both work in the entertainment touring industry, touring with musicians/circuses etc for blocks of time that can be from between a week to five weeks- sometimes we work together so there will be no one on board. Is it possible to rent short term moorings on an ad hoc basis for these periods of time if we plan our route carefully?

We plan to spend some time on board before we take the plunge, so we are looking into hiring a boat in the next few months and looking into doing some courses that we have found. We plan to look at as many boats as possible in our time off- we are excited to get started as soon as possible to be honest, but having read the many tales of caution on this site we are going to try and be sensibly steady about this process :)

We have a budget of around 25k to work with, are not 100 percent sure what size yet (hoping that spending some time nosing around will give us a better idea- but I expect we will be looking somewhere between the 50-60 foot range if we can within our budget)