NB Engine vs Car- problems

Featured Posts

Hi All- I am not a mechanic as this post will probably prove... However I have a simpleton question of comparison;

I just got thinking that my last 3 works cars were diesel & I covered over 150k in them without a single breakdown, just serviced as per manual. I gauge that NB Diesel Engines fail more pro-rata than a Car Engine.

If this is actually true, & now having read it back twice I am not convinced, what are the main reasons for this?

I am thinking a modern BETA (others are available) & not older Engines. My 1st Car was a Chevette & was always off the road!

My coat is ready if you don't go easy on me. :wacko:

I do not think you can say that narrowboat engines fail more pro-rata than car engines. If a car averages 50mph, then it can cover 150k in just 3000 hours. Most narrowboat engines will go for much longer than this without needing any more than routine servicing - ours has done 3 times that much over a period of 20 years but admittedly it has broken down three times (once needing a new oil seal, once needing a new injector pump, and once needing the replacement of a brass core plug)

• Greenie 1

Each boat is a different installation; unlike cars which are virtually identical across each model. Most failures, IMO, are due to the installation; pipes chafing, insufficient cooling, etc, etc.

Boat fuel tends to get a bit more contaminated than road vehicle fuel, as there is a larger quantity which sits around the tank for longer.

I find, however, that boat engines usually give more warning of potential failure than cars, even if it's just a worn bit on a rubber pipe.

Your 150k (I'm assuming 150,000 miles :rolleyes: ) probably equates to between 3000 and 6000 hours. That's low for most boat engines, many of which go on past 10,000 hours without major problems.

Just my thoughts,

Iain