Tewkesbury to Bristol

IdealStandard

Featured Posts

Hello all

I have been planning a journey from Tewkesbury to Bristol in order to get my newly acquired boat home. I have stuck the info into canal plan and it gives me a route North to the GU, then down the Oxford canal to Reading and along the Kennet & Avon.

I don't want to take the Seven as I am new to boating and it would petrify me. Why, however can I not go via Gloucester-Stroud-Oxford? It looks shorter to my eyes. Are the canals not fully linked up in that bit of the world?

You can probably tell I'm rather new to this, any help much appreciated.

Tim

Why, however can I not go via Gloucester-Stroud-Oxford? It looks shorter to my eyes. Are the canals not fully linked up in that bit of the world?

the Stroudwater and the Thames & Severn are not yet restored and look a little like this...

1213894950_7338787956.jpg

Brimscombe - Thames & Severn Canal by imulford, on Flickr

There are sections that are navigable but they're not linked up to anything.

7334458142_450f6c355c.jpg

Ryeford Double Lock - Stroudwater Navigation by imulford, on Flickr

Take a look at www.cotswoldcanals.com for more info :)

Edited by IanM

What others have said! Note though, that if you go by the shortest available route, which is probably up the Warwickshire Avon to Stratford on Avon, Stratford Canal to Lapworth, G.U. to Napton, Oxford canal to the Thames, K&A from Reading to Bath then Bristol Avon, then

1. You will no longer be a novice, but a seasoned boater!

2. More seriously, the route involves several river passages,* none normally as challenging as the Severn Estuary but at this time of year liable to flooding or strong streams, so check conditions before planning trip and make sure boat is adequately equipped (at least that would include anchor, life jackets and extra lengths of line (ropes)) and fully serviced.

*Avon, Cherwell section of Southern Oxford, Thames, Kennet, Bristol Avon.

Hello all