Hybrid inverter

pgrange

Featured Posts

Hello everyone 

First time poster and first time boat owner. I should state that I'm an electrician by trade, commercial work but have little or no experience on 12v dc systems. 

The original 13 year old sterling power and batteries on my 57 foot wide beam are knackered and I'm looking to replace and add at least 1000w of solar. 

I'm looking to buy 2000w hybrid inverter which incorporates a mppt solar controller and battery charger. I like the look of the iconica 24v hybrid controller as it has some rather nifty programming features like selecting prefferd power source ie. Batteries, shore power, generator etc and the price seems reasonable. 

My plan is to replace the aging batteries with 4 x 12v 220ah arranged in a series and parallel configuration to provide 440ah at 24v.  I also plan to add a 24v to 12v step down to run my 12v systems. I have a second alternator on the beta marine engine that I plan to swap out to 24v so my batteries can be charged whilst cruising. 

My question is am I over complicating things going 24v or should I stick with 12v inverter. The only inverters that offer the features I need all appear to be 24 or 48v and I cannot find a feature rich 12v 2000w inverter with mppt at a reasonable cost. I've seen Victron units but I'm not willing to fork out over a grand just on the inverter. 

Any advice and guidance will be gratefully received. 

Many thanks Peter 

Hi Peter and welcome :)

My first thought is that most boaters on here seem to be moving away from multi-function devices, preferring separates for the redundancy they bring. If your spiffy new inverter breaks down then you’ve also lost your solar and vice-versa. 

24V electrics have a lot going for them, but also some disadvantages when sourcing equipment. What functionality are you needing to achieve with the boat electrical systems?

36 minutes ago, pgrange said: