Welding Equipment

TheCrowsNest

Featured Posts

I want to buy some welding equipment for doing odd jobs on the boat (mainly fitting supports and brackets in the engine room) and for building a camper van in the new year. As I have no experience with welding, I want to purchase the kit sooner rather than later so I can learn.

I know there are various types of welding but I don't know which would be best for me to learn?

I have found a guy that is selling a MMA welder, helmet, rods, gloves, hammer etc for £400:

$T2eC16dHJHoFGlu9d(6IBSP)NPL6!Q~~48_80.J

Is this a good price for this kit? He said he will give me a quick lesson in how to use it which is a great advantage.

Just wondering what your views and thoughts were on this? Many thanks for any info :)

How are you going to power it - shoreline? If not, then I'd forget about welding on the boat, since its really tricky to run one from an inverter or generator; and the diesel powered welders (basically a matched diesel generator and welder) are very expensive and more for industrial/farm use etc.

If its for a camper and you have reliable mains supply, then MIG welding would be better than arc welding for body repairs. I'd recommend a Clarke 151TE but then that's only because I have one. Don't skimp on gas - the proper gas is expensive, not proper stuff contributes to poor welds which you really don't want to deal with if you're a beginner.

Hi mate, IMO that price is dam pricey, for a start the rods are around £15 a box of 5kg, gloves clamps about £20 and the helmet, a good auto can be got for around £50, all new prices, so that leaves the rig at £315, you can get one sof these new with warranty etc for less

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SIP-05246-Weldmate-P187-160-amp-Inverter-Welder-Gen-Safe-E78-/290984084466?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item43c000c3f2

Just one to look at new, there are lots to look at.