help finding immersion boss

paulmellors

Featured Posts

as a newbie, I'm looking for help identifying an immersion boss on my calorifier.

I don't know for certain that there is one but Leigh Guest at Thorne Boat Services has said it is very likely that there will be one seeing as it's less than 10 years old.

I have been instructed to look for likely areas under the insulation and then remove it with a stanley knife. Any suggestions as to which part looks favourite greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Paul

8635359377_44c0102042.jpg

8636465084_3221e39991.jpg

Hi Paul, it doesn't look like mine - here's a photo with immersion fitted:

file_zpscf62207b.jpg

file_zps0d2e1b2f.jpg

ETA 2nd photo which shows immersion cover removed. I can't see this kind of housing in your photos Paul

Edited by keble

Thanks so much for the quick replies. Really helpful. Am I correct in thinking tat the mid tank option would be the better choice, if there are in fact 2 boss'?

Unless there's any reason that this is a complex job, I'm thinking of attempting it. The 240v consumer unit has only 2 trips, which are both used, so it seems to me the simplest and tidiest option would be to replace that unit with a 4 way unit.

I think this is the ONLY one

Mine looked more like the other lump before I got the insulation off.

Thanks so much for the quick replies. Really helpful. Am I correct in thinking tat the mid tank option would be the better choice, if there are in fact 2 boss'?

Unless there's any reason that this is a complex job, I'm thinking of attempting it. The 240v consumer unit has only 2 trips, which are both used, so it seems to me the simplest and tidiest option would be to replace that unit with a 4 way unit.

You'll need an immersion spanner. Retighten the immersion heater once you've refilled the tank and the tank has warmed up.

Edited by blackrose

Mine looked more like the other lump before I got the insulation off.