Exploded battery

RLWP

Featured Posts

At 5:00am, this battery blew up, lifting the deck board above it:

exploded-battery-300x189.jpg

It looks like five of the cells exploded, wrecking the case:

battery-225x300.jpg

As the damage included the sides splitting, about half of the acid ran out into the battery box:

battery2-225x300.jpg

As part of the cleaning up, I drained the battery, here's the acid:

acid-300x237.jpg

I would say that this battery had become pretty sulphated, I'm not an expert on this though.

This was one of a domestic bank of six batteries, all charged up by an Adverc. The boat was used to living on a landline, but has spent a long summer out on the cut, not being used. More than once the batteries had become dead flat.

It looks to me that, although four of the batteries seem to have recovered (unscientific test - I can see the green ball), one is sat taking six amps in my workshop, and this one exploded.

I do wonder about these large battery banks with automatic chargers

Richard

Richard

We came close to the same in the summer but luckily we were cruising when the battery started to massively 'fizz' and overheat.

Fortunately when we got back to the pontoon our combi. wouldn't go into to charge mode because the temp sensor picked up the battery was overheating, this is what caused me to investigate, had it been one of the others in the bank though we would likely have just merrily connected the charger and left the boat as usual - and likely come back to the same scenario.

Here is what probably happened...