Repainting bashed bits!

Featured Posts

Hi all...

We have a few bashes on our boat at around piling level where we're caught the side when mooring up. Some of these little bashes have taken the paint off down to the metal. If we want to repaint these, do we need to fill them first? There are a few layers of paint on our boat so if we painted straight on, there would be an obvious indentation in the layers of paint. Does that make sense? I just wondered if we needed to sand it all down, fill it with filler to level it up and then paint it?

Sorry, I've no idea how to get the surface level !

Any help appreciated...

Kay

x

Edited to say: This is the actual boat paint we're talking about here - not the blacking...

Kay

x

Edited by kayDee

im not sure on what materials you would use for a boat but i paint cars for a living,i would fill the area if it was deep or block it out and use a high build primer.I think that you would be looking at filling the scrape,to get it to a high standard takes practice,after filling you would use a sanding block or a squeegie and the relevant grade of wet or dry sand paper and rub it flat,check that the paint your using adheres well to the filler or you will have to use a primer.It all takes a bit of practice

im not sure on what materials you would use for a boat but i paint cars for a living,i would fill the area if it was deep or block it out and use a high build primer.I think that you would be looking at filling the scrape,to get it to a high standard takes practice,after filling you would use a sanding block or a squeegie and the relevant grade of wet or dry sand paper and rub it flat,check that the paint your using adheres well to the filler or you will have to use a primer.It all takes a bit of practice