A right time of year

sharma

Featured Posts

Hi All

Newbie here.

Been reading the forum for a few weeks now and you all seem a friendly bunch so decided to take the plunge. Reading everything i can at the moment....and this forum is a mine of info.

My partner and i (and two daughters) are seriously thinking of selling up and getting a barge. We are looking at buying a widebeam as my partner is built like a......well, a widebeam it has to be!!

We will be based in Bristol or Bath area so any moorings you know of avaliable would be good.

A couple of questions:

Is there a time of year when its best to actually purchase a barge? My partner seems to think it would be better to wait until autumn as this time of year will be more expensive?

Also...a silly question maybe, but is it still considered bad luck to change the name of a boat/barge?

Thanks

Sharma

Hi All

Newbie here.

Been reading the forum for a few weeks now and you all seem a friendly bunch so decided to take the plunge. Reading everything i can at the moment....and this forum is a mine of info.

My partner and i (and two daughters) are seriously thinking of selling up and getting a barge. We are looking at buying a widebeam as my partner is built like a......well, a widebeam it has to be!!

We will be based in Bristol or Bath area so any moorings you know of avaliable would be good.

A couple of questions:

Is there a time of year when its best to actually purchase a barge? My partner seems to think it would be better to wait until autumn as this time of year will be more expensive?

Also...a silly question maybe, but is it still considered bad luck to change the name of a boat/barge?

Thanks

Sharma