Armco

system 4-50

Featured Posts

Where can I acquire some Armco, legitimately? And cheaply?

I'd like to make a nameplate to improve my chances of finding my mooring unoccupied when I return. A piece of Armco would fit nicely on top of the existing Armco, not be too visually intrusive, and be less of an obstacle for the Strimmers.

I'd like to make a nameplate to improve my chances of finding my mooring unoccupied when I return. A piece of Armco would fit nicely on top of the existing Armco, not be too visually intrusive, and be less of an obstacle for the Strimmers.

A quick google of 'Armco suppliers' brings up a few names, a quick call perhaps to get an off cut/spare bit.

Or a local authority Highways dept. may have some cheap off cuts.

Here's some on Ebay but I don't know if you'd be able to get short lengths.

Ebay Clicky

It might be worth asking your County Council highways department (if it hasn't been privatised).

When I was a Highways engineer I'd have had a dig around the depot scrap pile for such a request.

Or a local authority Highways dept. may have some cheap off cuts.

No such thing as off-cuts, for public highway use at least. They have to be installed as whole lengths.

Just as an interesting (or not so) aside Armco is a trade name for one type of crash barrier and their stuff is not used on the public highway as it doesn't meet the required standards.

The stuff on the roads that looks like "Armco" is actually called "Tensioned corrugated safety barrier" hence the popular adoption of a trade name as a generic, like "Hoover".

That would work if the Armco was the same as the motorway barriers - it isn't

Cross-posted

The roadside barrier acquired the generic name thanks to Murray Walker's repeated use of the word when racing cars bounced off the stuff.

And 'tensioned corrugated safety barrier' isn't formed with interlocking loops to make a continuous piling

I'm not sure what you mean by "interlocking loops" but this is how TSB is joined..