New boat with rod

Featured Posts

My background is fly fishing also and although I do coarse fish on the canals I'm far from an expert.

The link below should provide the basics.

As always, the devil is in the detail and there seem to be loads of gizmos in the world of coarse fishing so I suggest when you pop along to a tackle shop to buy floats / weights, you ask. A thing to help whip spade end hooks, for example.

Groundbaiting and loose feeding are part of the game that will be new to you and getting these right seem to be crucial - according to a match winning pal at work - something else to read up on or ask about in the shop.

Cheers

Graham

http://www.fish-uk.com/tackle_fishing_floats.htm

You might be able to do some research on the internet or buy a book suitable for fishing novices. I found something that might be useful to start you off http://www.gofishing.co.uk/Angling-Times/Section/how-to/Coarse-fishing-advice/Fishing-Tips2/Fishing-Charts--Guides/Guide-to-float-fishing-shotting-patterns/

My advice would be to keep it simple at the beginning Geoff. Fish close the the boat, find the depth under your rod tip to begin with, set the float to that depth, drop your float in, chuck a small handful of free offerings in around your float, sit back and enjoy your day.

You never know you might catch a fish - but if you set out to just enjoy your day the catching of a fish becomes a bonus and you are less likely to be frustrated

Edited by Bazza2

Hi i normally go fly fishing so be patient !

Got a new boat and found a course rod and reel on it but no other bits, so daft question is how do i tie a float on, and weight.

Make sure you get a good float - I had one that kept sinking!!!tongue.png

Alex

Brilliant thanks for the advice, but what size hooks would you use

Depends what you are using for bait. For sweetcorn or small cubes of luncheon meat, size 16 for one grain, 12 or 14 for 2 grains. For double maggot size 16 or 18. For single maggot size 18 or 20.