StudioCanal takes action against YouTube copyright infringed films

Laurence Hogg

Featured Posts

Studiocanal UK the British division of French owned Canal+ have taken action against YouTube for the removal of illegal uploads of their films. Amongst these were "Painted Boats" and the "The Bargee". This is welcome news as sales of these titles have fallen badly recently possibly due to these downloads being made freely available. Lichfield & Hatherton Canals Trust certainly lost a lot of sales this year as did other Waterway media sellers. British Waterways I understand are following in Studiocanal's footsteps having their titles pulled off too ie "There go the boats", "Inland Waterways" etc.

Youtube has become a hotbed of copyright infringement of late with programmes from the BBC, ITV etc freely uploaded clearly in breach of copyright. As a media producer I know too well how much time goes into production and the great costs involved, sadly with some footage held by Pathe etc prices will never allow it to be seen in its full glory but this is not an excuse for uploaders to try and circumvent costs, no one will eventually benefit from an illegally uploaded film. It simply make the odds of it getting into the public domain more unlikely.

http://www.studiocanal.co.uk/Home/AboutUs

Edited by Laurence Hogg

So, the profit of the sales of painted boats goes to the production then?

These films are essentially free of cost and the continuance of copyright is solely to make money, not to pay for these or other films.

As for your statement about Pathe and the ridiculous cost of these films that mean they remain the preserve of a few privileged or as fluff on a corporate content-free promo video, it seems strange you don't see the contradiction in your words

The people who copy and freely distribute this stuff have my full support. Information should and will always be made freely available to all and this action is ultimately futile.

• Greenie 2