Thinking of living-aboard

sallyannie

Featured Posts

Hello.

I have been thinking of buying a boat for some years now I have finished my nurse training i'm starting to look into this a bit more seriously.

I'm a complete novice so and help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Look forward to your replies

Sally xx

No i havent got a boat yet (need a job first)

I havent hired either just looking into things at the moment

have a look at the living afloat section, then see if you and a few friends can hire a boat for a weekend or a week if you can afford it, it will either make or break your descision and give you some idea of life afloat.

Edited by saltysplash

Try a week hiring in the depths of winter on a sparsely equipped boat. Then you will at least know that if you can put up with it for a week!!

We hired from Valley Cruises in Nuneaton. Had two weeks on a 6 berth in May one year, weather was beautiful, warm sunny great fun. We then hired their little 2 berth, with only a matchbox for a bed, a broom cupboard for a shower and a boatman's stove for heating. This kept going out since I am sure they had fitted some device to prevent it getting too hot. It was the beginning of November and a cold winter. We managed to enjoy ourselves on that, even with frozen canal and mooring ropes!!

So we reckoned we would enjoy living full time.

We have not yet moved onto our boat, but have stayed on her through the icy winter and hot summer.

It should work out!!

Keith

Welcome to the site you find it full of useful information dont worry about posting a topic that you think might have been done, sometimes the search doesnt come back with what you want. So just post away.

Has been said try hiring in the winter and see if you like it.

good luck and enjoy

P.S. two topics that no one can agree on are pumpout loos and CCing they always a good one to get the best out of everyone :lol: and a few :banghead: