Balanced Instant water heater lpg battery ignition

LUCE1923

Featured Posts

1 hour ago, LUCE1923 said:

HI I am really struggling to find a balanced instant water heater for my refit, any thoughts or reccomendations very welcome.

By “balanced” I am assuming you mean “room sealed”? I think you will be struggling to find a room-sealed heater that runs on 12v. Room sealed devices need a flue fan and they are to the best of my knowledge always mains powered. You could consider a Morco EUP11RS and a small inverter to operate it. Definitely not ideal but I think perhaps as good as you will get, unless anyone else knows better...

Yes I think it’s the same thing. Balanced flue means the flue typically has two concentric passages, one to let combustion air in, and one to let the exhaust gasses out. Such a flue arrangement doesn’t need any air from the room and thus is room-sealed. ... as I understand it, I am not a heating engineer, but google is your friend!

I found this, which makes a distinction between a balanced flue and a fanned flue, but it seems both are room sealed:

https://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/flue-types-description-of-open-balanced-and-fanned-flues.38227/

Are you looking at a commercial vessel or a liveaboard, or a leisure vessel - there are differing rules but in all cases it is not compulsory to have a room-sealed water heater.

Cooking, heating, refrigerating and lighting appliances could all ignite or fuel a fire on your boat. The aim of this Part is to minimise the risk of fire and explosion caused by leaked fuel or overheating surfaces or materials. It also aims to control potential sources of ignition, such as pilot lights.

The provisions of Part 8 in the 2002 BSS Standards are mandatory for non-private boats where applicable.