Wiring diagram

Featured Posts

Hi guys,

I'm having a widebeam sail away built. An electrician friend of mine is gonna give me a hand with the wiring, but he is a domestic electrician and was wondering if anybody has an example of a wiring diagram that he can familiarise himself with and get an idea of things. Also any info on current and cable sizes for different services would be amazing.

Thanks

Si

Wiring a boat is different from wiring a house - it's more like wiring a car. Broadly speaking (I know there are other parameters, I'm a Chartered Electrical Engineer) in a house cable sizes are based on the current the load draws, on a boat they tend to be based on volt drop since this usually has a bigger effect on cable sizing than the current drawn. Boat wiring uses stranded cables not solid conductors (to prevent vibration damage) however like a house it has a return wire. There are a number of books on the subject such as "The 12-Volt Bible for Boats" which could help. Also remember this is DC not AC and this can have an effect on the contact materials used in switches and breakers. The Boat Safety Scheme lays out some very basic requirements in this area as well.

Have a good read of Tony Brooks website and Gibbo's Smartgauge website- or rather, get your electrician to. Lots of good starter information on there, and the above book is also very useful.

Dang! Exactly what I was going to suggest matty, but you beat me to it you tinker. tongue.png

A note to Summersaltsi, you might find the Narrowboat Builder's Book will be a better source of wiring diagrams for narrowboats than the 12V Bible, that's aimed at marine installations in general .

Edited by Spuds

For sizing cable for the 12V stuff, it depends on both the max allowable cable loadings and the max allowable voltage drop between batts and equipment.