Would you buy a springer thats been plated

Trix

Featured Posts

Hello folks , the question is in the title , would you buy a springer thats been plated ? I'm told any work that needed to be done has been with receipts to prove . Its 50ft and I would want to live on the boat . Technically it would not be my first boat , but the first one never made it off the land due to a relationship break up. So you could say I am new to this really . I have read a lot about springers being the low budget boat of the canal , but does this make them bad? I find it difficult to see where people get the value's from but £17000 for a 50ft springer is that good or bad ????

Hello folks , the question is in the title , would you buy a springer thats been plated ? I'm told any work that needed to be done has been with receipts to prove . Its 50ft and I would want to live on the boat . Technically it would not be my first boat , but the first one never made it off the land due to a relationship break up. So you could say I am new to this really . I have read a lot about springers being the low budget boat of the canal , but does this make them bad? I find it difficult to see where people get the value's from but £17000 for a 50ft springer is that good or bad ????

The only way to know thesis to get a survey from a reputable surveyor, be there while he does it as you will learn a lot by speaking to him

Condition is everything......Do as TUSCAN suggests esp the bit about be there :cheers:

The surveyor can also tell you if the over plating has been done properly.

Thickness of plate is no good if the quality of the weld is poor.

Done properly it lends a new life in to an old boat.

Edited by Proper Job

personally no I would not buy a springer that has been overplated. patched or replated then yes i'd consider it. our tripboat Zachariah Keppel was replated from the waterline down when we converted her to do trips as her underwater sections were rotten.