Moored boats running the engine....

Ellum

Featured Posts

Hello all, firstly I'm a newbie to these boards so please bear with me :) Have had a good nosey round, spent over an hour following the Cragdale thread, so pleased the boat was found, well done all concerned.

So, to my query - we're currently in London and were moored up behind a boat (old-style, open with rear cabin) the other night which was running its engine whilst in gear - the clunk of our rudder pushing against the stern brought me out for a look. I thought someone had just made a mistake as the pull on the ropes can't be good either but then saw another boat (semi-trad) further down the towpath doing the same thing.

Can anyone enlighten me?

E.

They are doing it because they think that if they don't they will glaze their bores. (The oil and additive pack turn into a varnish on the inside of the cylinders) Load on the engine is suppose to stop this. Whether or not this actually happens any more or ever did seams to be a matter of opinion.

You can search for glaze and bore now and fine a plethora of posts arguing about it now :)

Hello all, firstly I'm a newbie to these boards so please bear with me :)

Hi Ellum, and welcome to the forum.

I think I've seen this covered a couple of times, have found one thread but I'm sure there's a longer one somewhere, will keep looking, just got to find the right keyword.

http://www.canalworld.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=122

Hello all, firstly I'm a newbie to these boards so please bear with me :) Have had a good nosey round, spent over an hour following the Cragdale thread, so pleased the boat was found, well done all concerned.