The best route

Simon clarke

Featured Posts

I have bought a boat which at the moment is on a canal in Bolton. I need to move it to the South, probably the Kennet and Avon Canal somewhere between Bristol and Hungerford. I am in Bournemouth so I think that is as far South as I can get it without a coastal passage which I don't fancy doing until I can give her a good once over. I am thinking of doing this mid to late January or early February. What route would you suggest I take? I have plenty of experience of the sea but hardly any off rivers and canals.

Have a look at this site to plan your journey; be aware however, many sections of the waterways will not be open to navigation due to winter stoppages for routine maintenance at that time of year.

CanalPlanAC — Canal Route Planner

canalplan.eu/

Waterway route planning, plan your boat trip or holiday along the rivers and canals. Distances and locks are given. View and add photos of places.

Check for stoppage informatIon on the CaRT website. The winter stoppage programme usually ends around mid February.

Good luck.

Have a look at this site to plan your journey; be aware however, many sections of the waterways will not be open to navigation due to winter stoppages for routine maintenance at that time of year.

CanalPlanAC — Canal Route Planner

canalplan.eu/

Waterway route planning, plan your boat trip or holiday along the rivers and canals. Distances and locks are given. View and add photos of places.

Check for stoppage informatIon on the CaRT website. The winter stoppage programme usually ends around mid February.

Good luck.

Thankyou so much! Brilliant link.