GONE FISHING....

Featured Posts

Ok, you lot. I need your help!

After years of cruising the canals and cursing miserable po-faced fishermen, I've now had a mid-life crisis.

I went out yesterday and bought myself a rod and all the bits. I now intend to find a bit of canal and drown a few maggots, and try to prove that all anglers aren't miserable! I will move my rod swiftly out of the way of any boat, and smile nicely as I watch you cruise by!

As a total beginner, knowing absolutely nothing about fishing, I'd appreciate any help and advice I can get. I don't know anyone else who fishes, so I expect it will be a steep learning curve! I got some helpful advice from the guy in the Angling Shop, but I really don't want to have to pester him every five minutes! I'm intending to fish mainly on the Leeds Liverpool canal, as well as any others we cruise on, and also on the River Calder. I had a go on the river last night, and got a few nibbles - I know they were nibbling because my worm kept getting shorter! Didn't manage to land anything though. I seemed to spend more time untangling my line than actually fishing. Thoroughly enjoyed it though. I'm sure things can only get better!

Any information would be great. Thanks guys,

Janet

Have you got your Environment Agency rod licence?

It's about £24 and you can do it online through environment-agency.gov.uk

Have you got a keep net? This is not for fish, it's for beer beer beer :cheers:

Barbless hooks are a damned sight easier to get out of your own fingers.

Otherwise, there are plenty of helpful websites, will find some when I've got chance, but tying the knots and types of rigs are something you really need showing, not telling.

Best of luck though.

Have you got your Environment Agency rod licence?

It's about £24 and you can do it online through environment-agency.gov.uk

Have you got a keep net? This is not for fish, it's for beer beer beer

Barbless hooks are a damned sight easier to get out of your own fingers.