Isolation transformers

Featured Posts

Hi All

Its now time to think about protecting the boat hull from stray current. I was going to fit a galvanic isolator until I read the Smartgauge page on the subject and now think I should fit an Isolation Transformer. But which one? There is the Victron Isolation Transformer. 3.6kvA one for around £600 or the Carroll & Meynell 3.3kva £132.75 from Srewfix (43658 pg354)there may well be others. As I don't believe price determines quality or fit for purpose I am very tempted to go for the Srewfix one. Any thoughts or comments would be most welcome.

Regards

Wrinkley

........or the Carroll & Meynell 3.3kva £132.75 from Srewfix (43658 pg354)........

Unfortunately that doesn't seem to be a mains isolation transformer - I thought it sounded cheap!

That is, I believe, a transformer that allows 110 volt "site" equipment to run from 240 volt mains.

My guess is, (but I'm no expert), that it doesn't even isolate. It is probably what's called an "auto-transformer", meaning that the voltage is derived from one shared transformer winding, so it may still well be electrically connected to the 240 volts.

I could be wrong on that, but do not believe this to be able to serve the purpose of a boat's IT, to run normal mains equipment.

(Now awaits being told he is wrong!....)

(Now awaits being told he is wrong!....)

You're partially wrong :)

You're right in that it is 110 volt, but you're wrong in that it will be isolated from the incoming 230 volts (the centre tapped earth means it has to be).