best finish on ash

bespin

Featured Posts

hi, does anyone know what product will give the best finish on ash. i have read that oil will cause the wood to yellow. ive looked at both water based laquer and rustins plastic coat though they both seem to give a gloss finish that im not sure if i want. also dont know if i want to use brushed on varnish as i will probably mess it up.

Is it inside or outside...I'm no expert but we lined the upper cabin on our boat with bloody expensive tongue and groove ash and had the same dilema. We didn't want to put anything on it, it looked so nice, so what we did was use a bits of scrap and mess around with all sorts of stuff until we got the look we wanted.

In the end as it was inside, we decided it didn't need a great thick coat of anything just something to enable it to wiped clean, basically sealed.

We used a thin wash of Satin varnish - brushed it on and ragged it off, leaving a dead smooth matt finish. That was 10 years ago and it still looks like the day we did it. Cant find a photo.

found one, it isn't as shiny as it looks in the photo - honest

front.JPG

Edited by Evo

I like oil finish it takes a long time of several coats but can give you the wow factor.

Ash is yellow in colour in the first place and the oil will make it a deep yellow look but although I do use water based varnish ect only inside cupboards, the water based products to me look like plastic coatings and not natural and the oils work with the wood.

thanks for the replys evo dovetail, the finish does look good on your pic. I really want to avoid a gloss type finish. It the over yellowing of the ash that im worryed about as people have said it can go a very pee yellow and im wanting to keep the boat as light as possible. our current boat as oak that as been varnished and the finish looks patchy. ive also been looking at Osmo Polyx Oil as this clams not to yellow the wood though is expensive.