Bmc 1.5 no amps back

chris1138

Featured Posts

Hi folks, 

My bmc 1.5 engine isn't taking back any amps to starter. 

Thinking something loose as I took her down the canal to a fella as I noticed it wasn't working - only for it to work then. 

But then on my way back up - nowt. 

I am new to boats and engines. 

I have made a wee youtube video for you to see. Also a loose belt anyone know how to tighten (see in video) 

Thanks very much link below 

https://youtube.com/shorts/tGTZcJK_XYA?feature=share

Engine starts with plenty of energy, then the ignition lamp goes out as expected as the alternator energises.

A busted ammeter would be my guess! 

How do you know the ammeter is measuring starter battery current and not domestic battery current?

2 minutes ago, MtB said:

How do you know the ammeter is measuring starter battery current and not domestic battery current?

No idea what you mean mate. 

What's domestic battery current? 

Sorry, I don't know much about these. 

I'm pretty sure it should be feeding amps back to starter. That's how it worked previously. 

I just changed my starter . It's used but it seems grand. 

I disagree with Mike, I don't think the warning lamp goes out until, for some odd reason, you turned the ignition switch off.

Sometimes you have to rev the engine to get the alternator to energise, you did that to a degree, but you put it ack to idle almost instantly. As a test, restart it, leave the ignition on and the rev the engine about halfway for a few seconds, see if it works.

The belt looks tight enough to at least allow the alternator to energise, even if it slips, so you do not get maximum output.

You MIGHT have left a thickish cable off the main starter connection, maybe about 6mm in diameter. That would be the main charging lead from the alternator that is using the main nut type starter terminal as a junction box, but that is in no way definite because we need to know a lot more about your system.