Just brought a widebeam riveted house boat advise needed..

Davestampy1

Featured Posts

Hi as the title says. The boat yard owner came on the boat and said its riveted and is proberly early 1900s. He advised to get a survey done before we buy it and we done the opposite and used this against the seller to get the price down as it seems a gamble. We plan to get her out of the water to be blacked and noticed it will need some welding.

What else should we be looking out for ? We have noticed its concrete on the floor and there is one area that has been broken up and is some water there. We just hope the hulls not too bad with a plan to refurbish it inside and out as i am a carpenter. Some general advice would be great. Not seem a boat like it and has a sqaure looking stern...

If it is an over 100 year old riveted iron or steel boat, and has had poured concrete put into the bottom it is simply impossible for anybody to say what you might face.

If the bottom proves to be largely "shot", then the presence of tons of concrete, (if that's what you have), would certainly make fixing it a whole heap harder.

I suppose I could say "define common", but no, if it is a riveted steel canal or river craft, (and without a picture I'm not quite sure what you have!), then 100-120 years old is relatively rare, though by no means exceptional.

Anything over 20 or 30 years old is an unknown quantity really, depending on what it was, what it has been used for, what maintenance has been done, etc. One of my 80 year old riveted boats is currently having some significant platework done to put it into good order, but then it is only 80 years old, with no poured concrete in the bottom.

Where's that picture?

EDIT: I see it now, but have absolutely no idea what you have bought! My initial reaction is I'm not sure it is that old. Riveted canal and boats were still being built in the 1950s or so, so the fact it is riveted doesn't necessarily make it mega-old.

Edited by alan_fincher