Victron/battery isolator

nickfryer

Featured Posts

Hi all.

I am very new to Combi chargers as my current boat is all 12V.when i normally leave the boat i would switch both battery isolators off.

In my new boat which is well on the way to being fitted out, advice is needed on where to connect the combi. I have read some various threads on connections, this is how i intend to connect mine.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Main battery bank to Megafuse. Megafuse to battery isolator. Battery isolator to 12v distribution unit. Combi connection taken from battery side of isolator.

smartgauge advanced fitted so relay will connect both banks when shoreline connected.

Comments or advice please.

Thanks. Nick

Hi all.

I am very new to Combi chargers as my current boat is all 12V.when i normally leave the boat i would switch both battery isolators off.

In my new boat which is well on the way to being fitted out, advice is needed on where to connect the combi. I have read some various threads on connections, this is how i intend to connect mine.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Main battery bank to Megafuse. Megafuse to battery isolator. Battery isolator to 12v distribution unit. Combi connection taken from battery side of isolator.

smartgauge advanced fitted so relay will connect both banks when shoreline connected.

Comments or advice please.

Thanks. Nick

This sort of question always produces lots of argument! Our boat is connected as you say, with the Combi bypassing the isolator. Provided this is adequately fused very near the batteries, I think that is fine. You just have to bear in mind that the Combi is live even with the isolator off.