Buying a Sailaway

Featured Posts

Hello all, I'm new to this forum and I don't yet have a boat but I'm doing my research now and hope to enter into the world of liveaboard as soon as I feel I've soaked up enough facts that I can make a wise enough decision as to what suits me best. My first questions of course revolve around what hull/sailaway type I should go for, and for the purpose of this area of the forum what the best or most reasonable manufacturer should be? Firstly I have a fairly good idea what type I want to buy, the Blackrose 12ft by 57ft http://www.barging.co.uk/BlackRose.htm narrowboat style widebeam is looking to me to seem the perfect choice for me atm. Firstly I am fine about being consigned to the widebeam canals of the south of UK having used the www.barging.co.uk map as guide. Secondly as a liveaboard I do feel the width benefits would be a necessity for me. I work as a freelance TV Editor and I would like the option of being able to moor up in London to do some work during the winter months then CC through the summer months, any thoughts on this also welcome. I am 28 and feel that I've got enough energy in me to have a good go at fitting out a sailaway hull up to the standards and style that I have in mind. I have to say that making it my home and putting a lot of 'me' into it is a very important part of this project, and I am fully aware of how very hard this will be, but I've always enjoyed challenges. Anyway, my thoughts at the moment would be to buy a Liverpool Boats Co. sailaway lined 12ft by 60ft from them and mooring non residential poss kingston area whilst I fit her up inside over a year or so, to get her to the point I can continue fitting her up but can live in her too. all thoughts on my endeavors most appreciated and very welcome.

Cal

P.S

This forum has been a great read, so thanks for everyone for making such a useful and interesting forum.

Your first problem will be that Liverpool Boats, as such, are no longer trading.