Floating Singer Songwriter

FORTUNATA

Featured Posts

Never mentioned this before but some months ago someone gave me a synth/keyboard that they'd been unable to sell on EBay. I was reluctant to take it onboard as I feared I could get bogged down with learning an instrument. Several months later here I am living on a boat often doing 4 or 5 hours practice and still determined to release an album.
When I started to play, I was doing a lot of multi-track recording which means it's fairly easy to sound good. You just play something on one channel and then play over that on top. Start with bass, for example, add drums, add chords and so on.
Sometime in November I started learning actual piano. That is, using both hands at the same time and co-ordinating. Initially that is tricky as you have to completely move each set of fingers independently but it's doable with practice. I found it helpful to listen to other people on YouTube and was surprised to find quite a lot of talent still hidden away in peoples' homes.
The biggest leap so far has been the frightening transition to singing. I've always both hated and feared singing as I consider I have a crap voice and that to try and work a miracle is asking too much. However, I tried, admitted defeat but then gave it another go. I started discovering that, in actual fact, we can all sing. Very few of the people you see on X-Factor simply sounded that good from the outset. Susan Boyle, for example, had had serious vocal tuition and had been in a church choir. Granted she has a genetically gifted voice few of us could hope to match but, nevertheless, anyone can sing with practice and some training.