Narrowboat insulation

Featured Posts

Hi, we are building a narrowboat and need to know which is the best insulation to use? Has anyone ever used spray foam insulation themselves and is it easy to do? and where do you buy the equipment and foam from? :lol: We live in York so would need somewhere close by if poss.

Has anyone ever used spray foam insulation themselves and is it easy to do? and where do you buy the equipment and foam from? :lol: We live in York so would need somewhere close by if poss.

A quick Google will throw up plenty of DIY Foam kits. Here's one as an example: http://www.spray-insulation.co.uk/ They all deliver.

I'm concerned to see that at least one company have withdrawn their DIY kits "due to changes in fire safety under the latest Building Regulations" and them not meeting the new Class 1 fire regulations. However I'm no expert in this area so perhaps it's more of a technicality as opposed to a real danger.

Tony

I've just used kingspan PU sheetrs in 2" and 1" to insulate my boat. It's taken some time (and it's still not finished :lol: ) the fiddly bits are quite time consuming!

The reason I chose to not use sprayfoam was that if I stuck to PU sheets I could take my time and make sure there were battens etc all in the right places (ie extra battens where there was to be high level cupboards etc.)

Spray foam -

Pro's - quick & easy and all covering.

Cons - could be messy & pretty much 'all covering' and unreliable with thickness.

PU sheet material -

Pro's - easy self application, a very consistant thickness that can be applied at a pace to suit your schedule (i could have completed mine in two weeks I think, It took just a day to do the cabin top)

Cons - dusty when cutting and can be a bit fiddly on the smaller areas, (PU foam 'void filler' gets to some of those spots) slower to apply