VDO Ammeter

Raybo

Featured Posts

Hi,

I have been lurking on the forum for a while since we purchased our first boat last year. Its about time for my first proper post.

Amongst the equipment left by the previous owner is a "new" VDO Oceanline 80-0-80 ammeter, but no shunt. The meter seems like an expensive bit of equipment and it would be a shame not to use it. I'm no electrickery expert, but I've been reading previous threads and think I understand the principle of how a shunt works, and where it should be "plumbed" in, but am none the wiser about how to get hold of an appropriate shunt. I gather the spec of the shunt depends on the operating voltage of the ammeter (50mV / 75mV but I can't find this info anywhere on the VDO tech specs) and the amperage measured (but I'm not sure if this is to be matched to the meter - i.e. 80A or the current to be measured - probably the alternator output)

Original VDO items seem to be unavailable (except at ludicrous prices from the States - $90+ without P&P). Can anyone give me a steer on how to specify the shunt?

A related query - the back of the ammeter has 4 terminals (in addition to the backlight bulb): +, _, 1, 2. I guess I wire up + & -; does anyone know what 1 & 2 are for?

Cheers,

Ray.

A related query - the back of the ammeter has 4 terminals (in addition to the backlight bulb): +, _, 1, 2. I guess I wire up + & -; does anyone know what 1 & 2 are for?<br style="color: rgb(28, 40, 55); font-size: 13px; line-height: 19px; background-color: rgb(250, 251, 252); ">

Possibly the backlight ?

Nick

How old is it? Several old cars with ammeters up to 60 - 0 - 60 amps were direct reading and passed the full current through the coil (probably three turns of fat wire) Can you see anything through the casing?

Can you pass a small current through it under control! Does the needle move or not?