Boat Move

Gra73

Featured Posts

Hi,

new to forum, so go easy!

I need to move my boat from Hawkesbury Junction, Coventry to Devizes next Friday - 11th May.

I have no boating experience, is there anyone willing to join me for the journey? Long trip - 10 days min, or a boat mover at a cost who wouldn’t mind me tagging along!?

You can email me direct at; brightblu@icloud.com

Many thanks in advance 

Graham

Welcome to the forum; I think there's a good chance you can find someone to help you with this. It's the sort of trip I like, and have done with various forum members, my going rate being just getting fed. A cheap boating holiday!

The bad news is that I'm committed next week, but hopefully someone else can step in, or maybe people to do a bit of the journey each. If you haven't already decided your route, I'd advise you to go via Oxford not Brentford because (1) it's the shorter easier route and (2) it saves the bother of the short stretch of the tidal Thames from Brentford up to Teddington.

Your journey starts off nice and easy with the long lock-free pound down to Hillmorton, but the North Oxford is a busy canal and as a beginner the most important part of your trip to have someone there to help you will be the first day or two. Once you've learnt the basics of steering, getting moored up and entering a lock, all you need is someone who can operate the lock paddles and gates for you. Even another beginner doing that will be easier for you than having to get to grips early in your boating career with single handing the boat through locks, but it's good to learn about lock operation before you do it for the first time; there is a useful general introductory booklet available from CRT, "The Boater's Handbook". It's probably online somewhere.