New bottom welding

Featured Posts

Hello, this is my first post on the forum so please point out any mistakes I make.

Firstly I am a student and also a sailor, I have been around boats my entire life and for the whole of that time I have watched my Grandad live on a widebeam narrowboat.

Now I am at University we all know how much debt students get in, well... my plan is to spend the debt on a narrowboat and moorings.

I have no big budget but have found myself a project, the inside info I have is that in a local yard a narrowboat will be coming available for a price within my budget (cheap) because of one snag.

The bottom is thin, how much does it cost to re bottom (im sure theres a technical term for this) a roughly 30ft narrowboat.

For arguments sake and expecting the worse lets say the whole thing needs doing?

I have a plan of buying the boat living in her on the hard whilst I save money to pay for the work and then living in her again but this time in the water.

I'm comfortable with most other aspects so far but do have a few more questions for other sections after this and if I get her...

Thanks in advance.

I 'think' someone on here recently said...it costs about £125 per foot of boat length...however...as this boat is shorter then it may not need a thick bottom plate...which could affect the price and bring it down a little.

Sounds about right to me....

Edited by Bobbybass

I 'think' someone on here recently said...it costs about £125 per foot of boat length...however...as this boat is shorter then it may not need a thick bottom plate...which could affect the price and bring it down a little.

Sounds about right to me....

crazy moon man talk.

30ft? Is it a Springer? If so it will cost more per ft. Also there are a number of overheads unrelated to length of boat or thickness of steel so it may also cost more per foot than say a 57ft boat. I would be budgetting the best part of £2K for the whole job. Maybe more.