Haynes Manual!?!?

Kris

Featured Posts

Hey,

I'm just wanting to learn a bit more about how canal boats run and the workings of the mechanical bits. I'm pretty good with engines having grown up with motorbikes and I have always worked on my own cars. I know how an engine works (petrol + diesel) but when it comes to the engine dying on my canal boat for the first time (not that I have one yet, but I WILL!!) I'm sure I will get lost and not be able to find things I recognise. I'm by no means a mechanic! My knowledge goes as for as, 'if it doesn't start, take the spark plug out put a drop of petrol in the cylinder and maybe a quick cleanout of the carb'. And thats only on 2-stroke petrol engines.

Is there somekind of manual for them, like the Haynes manual for your car? Only less specific I imagine. Or even better, a website somewhere? I've tried google searches but they just throw up people selling engines.

Oh, not just the engine either, the whole drive-train. (If it's called that on a boat!).

There's 2 other of my friends who would be joining me on the water, one knows how to drive but it could be a hampster in a wheel powering it for all he knows or cares, and the other probably hasn't heard of diesel!! I am thier only hope in a mechanical breakdown situation!!

Thanks alot!

Kris

Ofcause, if you have a veichal dirived engine, you may well be able to get a haynes for that engine in question, minus a few "marinaisation" touches

Daniel

I presume you have to order the manual for emily anne's engine direct from haynes?

I presume you have to order the manual for emily anne's engine direct from haynes?

Haha, urrrm, yeah...

- Im not sure her particular model was ever used within a vehicle haynes covered unfortunatly!

On a simualar note, we have always said we should join rivercanalrescue can get them to do use a homestart! :cheers:

Daniel