Old Oil Cans

David Schweizer

Featured Posts

Clearing out my late Father in Law's garage, I found several old Oil and grease cans still containing most of their original contents, They are too interesting to throw away but how old are they?

My guess is that the two Castrol tins and the Wakefield/Girling tin date from the late 1950' early 1960's whilst the Shell can and the Pluis gas tin date from the early 1970's. can anyone cast any light on theri real age?

OilCans.jpg

Edited by David Schweizer

How did you do That? I got it right second time

All late 1960s - I worked in a garage in 1970 and I recognise all of them from that time. If the price label on the 'Plus Gas' tin is not in pre-decimal currency it could be 1970 or 1971.

All late 1960s - I worked in a garage in 1970 and I recognise all of them from that time. If the price label on the 'Plus Gas' tin is not in pre-decimal currency it could be 1970 or 1971.

Thanks for that, the label on the Plus Gas tin is in decimal currency - 84p so post 1970. The shell oil can is 2 litres which I was assuming would also be 1970's unless Shell used litres before then.

• Greenie 1

Thanks for that, the label on the Plus Gas tin is in decimal currency - 84p so post 1970. The shell oil can is 2 litres which I was assuming would also be 1970's unless Shell used litres before then.

That is surprising - if I recall correctly they still being sold in pints, quarts and gallons at that time and only went to litres with the arrival of plastic containers. I think the pint container was shaped like an oversize baked bean tin and may have been cardboard with a tin top and bottom.