oil

Featured Posts

hi there im new to this ive had my boat around 12 months now ... love it.. im going to change my oil filter on my 1.5 bmc diesel engine .. what is the best grade of oil to use? ive got some 20/50 is this ok?

or does it have to be specificaly for diesel?

all the best

steve.....ashby canal..... :lol:

From a starting point that you should probably change the oil after about 200 hours running using a reasonable quality oil, you can use cheaper oil if you want to change it more often or better oil if you want to go longer between changes - but don't take chances with the engine for the sake of a few quid and change it once a year as a minimum. I understand oil intended for diesel engines is best as it contains additives to deal with the sulphur produced by diesel combustion. I don't think the viscosity makes a lot of difference in a marine installation.

hi there im new to this ive had my boat around 12 months now ... love it.. im going to change my oil filter on my 1.5 bmc diesel engine .. what is the best grade of oil to use? ive got some 20/50 is this ok?

all the best

steve.....ashby canal..... :lol:

The oil does need to be suitable for older style Diesels and should be rated at API CC/SD. There are two schools of thought about the grade of oil to be used on a BMC 1.5. Some (myself included) use straight 30 SAE whilst others prefer 10/40SAE or 20/50SAE. it is down to choice although some people reckon that the multigrade is better for worn engines because it reduces smoking.

Many people (again myself included) swear by Morris Oil which has a good track record, whilst others will scour supremarkets for a cheaper non branded supply, which is fine if you trusrt the supplier. Personally I prefer to rely upon a proven brand. As already indicated, the correct period for oil change on tyhe BMC 1.5 is every 200 hours, leave it much longer than that and the engine will start to complain.