Boatman Stove - Opinions?

TommyD

Featured Posts

Hello all,

I'm looking into providing heating and hot water for my boat, a 36' x 12' Broads Cruiser, on three levels. I'm thinking about using a gas-fired on demand system for the hot water, and for the heating I'd like to use a solid fuel stove on the highest, central level, with a rad going down to the front cabin, and one going down to the open plan area in the back. Firstly, if anybody would like to point out any flaws in this system, that's great, as I'm just getting into boating. Mainly though, I wanted to get some opinions on the Boatman Stove with back boiler. It seems to be a lot cheaper than a Morso Squirrel or similar, and I'm on a bit of a budget. Is it a false economy though, or is it useful and reliable?

Thanks all

Hello all,

I'm looking into providing heating and hot water for my boat, a 36' x 12' Broads Cruiser, on three levels. I'm thinking about using a gas-fired on demand system for the hot water, and for the heating I'd like to use a solid fuel stove on the highest, central level, with a rad going down to the front cabin, and one going down to the open plan area in the back. Firstly, if anybody would like to point out any flaws in this system, that's great, as I'm just getting into boating. Mainly though, I wanted to get some opinions on the Boatman Stove with back boiler. It seems to be a lot cheaper than a Morso Squirrel or similar, and I'm on a bit of a budget. Is it a false economy though, or is it useful and reliable?

Thanks all

May be a problem making hot water go downhill, even with a pump it won't like it much and bleeding the system will need something special at the stove end.

Boatman is useable, Squirrel is (one of) the best, easier to keep in and light.

May be a problem making hot water go downhill, even with a pump it won't like it much and bleeding the system will need something special at the stove end.