stove back boiler central heating install

agag

Featured Posts

Hi,

This is my first post at the forum. I am quite new to all this and I

would appreciate some of the great advice of the collective brain.

I did read a few of the relevant posts in this forum, the 'Narrowboat

builders book' section on heating and various calorifier articles

online. I was totally clueless before and now I feel just little bit

less clueless :)

Got this boat recently with a stove for heating and a single coil

calorifier connected to the engine for hot water. I find this setup

not to be entirely suitable for my needs so I am looking to upgrade

it.

For this reason I purchased a 4kw Stovax Brunel 1A with a 2kw back

boiler and 28mm connections. I am also looking at replacing the

current calorifier with a twin coil one so I can have both engine and

stove connected. The calorifier could be either vertical or horizontal

with 28mm coil connections as well.

My prefered system would be gravity fed if possible. Would like to have

water circulating from the stove to the calorifier and 2kw worth of 3 radiators.

There is a drawing of the layout here

(Each square in the drawing is 25cm.)

In the current layout the stove sits in the middle of the boat, the

calorifier is at the stern with a radiator (rad 1) between them. I

would like to have 2 more rads aft from the stove positioned in the

bathroom (rad 2) and bedroom (rad 3). The header tank can be

positioned anywhere, although it will be handy to be in the bathroom

or bedroom cupboard.

In terms of priorities , heating water, the bedroom and bathroom rads

are more important elements, the rad in the galley not so much. Its

more there to make sure that I have enough kw worth of heat

dissipation to avoid boiling. This rad could even be turned off at

times to speed up heating the rest.

More or less I understand the principals of the thermosyphon but I am

not sure how this will apply here. I was thinking of connecting first