Mastervolt BTM battery monitor

Featured Posts

Hello,

I have a Masterolt BTM battery monitor that I want to check is correctly wired up. The fact that one of the wires isnt attached to anything and that the monitor isn't brilliantly accurate at measuring charge going in, is making me think its not! I have downloaded the instruction manual for it but it doesn't clearly describe the many little coloured wires and where they are supposed to connect. Instead they are just numbered. Needless to say my wires don't have numbers written on them!

Does anyone have one of these monitors installed and if so please can you list what battery terminal each coloured wire is supposed to attach to?

Thanks

Edited by BlueStringPudding

Just a guess, as I do not know the instrument, do the terminals have numbers?

If they do.............................. it is just a matter of reading numbers, looking at the colour of the cable in the terminal and tracing where the cable should go.

Had a look at the manual for a BTM-1

Go to page 29 (PDF download) ,diagram of internals, look at the back of your monitor and make sure it is the looks the same, if so, the terminals are numbered 1 to 8 left to right.

The table below tell you where they should go.

1 and 2 power the unit.

3 and 4 go the shunt

5 and 6 to the domestic batteries

7 to the start battery

8 probably the one not going anywhere is a signal wire that could be wired to an alarm

I think she has that but it may be a help to others.

I have downloaded the instruction manual for it but it doesn't clearly describe the many little coloured wires and where they are supposed to connect. Instead they are just numbered. Needless to say my wires don't have numbers written on them!

I admit I did not read it all, so may have missed where it states colours.

And anyone know what "service battery voltage sence" means? :unsure: