2 bits of advice on CS2 lubrication

Nev

Featured Posts

Hi,

Excuse my simple questions but I am new to older engines (having has a Beta 1505 in my last boat) but very keen to be able to maintain the engine and understand it. I don't do learning by books, I try but I learn best when shown or when doing it myself, I think it is called trial and error !

I have a CS2 in my boat and will be doing an oil change before I go off for a couple of weeks to the Shroppie. Above the oil pump there is what looks like a bleed screw that connect to a pipe with a sight glass. Best I can assume is that this is a way of checking the oil pump is pumping rather than a pressure gauge (I understand this engine uses a simple splash method of lubrication rather than a pressurised system.)

http://flic.kr/p/ee23m4

My question is do I undertake the oil change (it has a pump connected to the sump plug) take out the strainer and clean it with paraffin then refit add new oil and restart, opening the screw to check if the pump is pumping correctly... not sure why it would not unless it needs priming and I have no idea how that would be done.

My other question is on the lubrication in the recess around the two valve springs. I have read elsewhere on the internet this mini sump needs oil all the time.... can someone confirm this as I don't recall reading it in the very simple Lister maintainance book... or if I did I missed it??

My final question is the fuel filter I understand is a simple wick...as this

http://www.stationaryengineparts.com/fuel-filter-wick-2232-0.html

Not having time to get to the boat before I do the work just checking this is the element for the fuel filter? (it is the cast iron type )

Many thanks in advance,

Nev

That is definitely a fuel filter

How well it filters is a bit of a mystery

Personally, I'd rather have a standard cartridge filter somewhere up the line and leave the sock filter out

Richard