how to work a lock?

goldtone

Featured Posts

I'm new to this canal lark, but have worked as crew on a motor powered yacht so know how to steer and moor a boat. so only have one question regarding it all.

Locks? The only worry I have is how to use them. I see posts about pulling the fenders up, not hitting the sill, bow to bottom gate, stern to rear gate, rocking the boat, engine at 1/4 idle, not at 1/4 idle, tying the boat in a lock, not tying the boat etc etc. I'm a bit confused by it all!!

I'm getting the boat in a month and our virgin journey will be a 5 day cruise from the Stratford Canal to my mooring on the Grand Union encountering God knows how many locks and a flight. And i don't want to bugger it up basically!

So, how do I work a lock? The guy I got the boat from never had any experience before and he fared fine, so I know it can't be too difficult. But, I'm a born worrier, so any instruction/advice would be much appreciated.

Goldtone

there is no mystery on using locks best advice nip down the cut at tha weekend and watch and ask if your near the stratford theres plenty there to be done perhaps if you talked to boaters and explaned you could help somebody go down and then help somebody back up to were you started

Youll get ten different answers on the forum as to how to do them :):D

Hi Goldtone

As Denis says, there are almost as many answers as there will be folk answering them!! :)

Some sites worth looking at:

1. How Canal Locks Work

http://www.pigpen.org.uk/locks.htm

2. How to work Canal Locks

http://www.canaljunction.com/canal/lock_skills.htm

3. Locks: Uphill and downhill on a boat

http://www.canals.com/locks.htm

If you are feeling really brave try searching the "New to Boating?" and "Boat Handling" forums! :D:D

[search - More Search Options - New to Boating? or Boat Handling]

Locks are great fun to work with but you do need to take care when operating them.

Stewey

Edited by stewey