Repairing hatch

frahkn

Featured Posts

I would be grateful for some advice about the following.

The inner, wooden, panel has dropped off one of my hatches. The outer steel hatch is just a plain 3mm sheet (not the shallow “tray” you sometimes see).

Some parts of the steel is very rusty and this may have pushed the wood off. Other parts are clean, bare metal and the rest has a residue of the original adhesive on it. It looks as though this was just applied to parts of the sheet rather than as a complete covering.

When I have removed the rust, will I need to paint the steel? If so, what paint would be best? Should I use Vactan or similar, first?

Then, what should I use to glue the wood back in place?

Seems a straightforward job but I have no experience with this.

The inner, wooden, panel has dropped off one of my hatches. The outer steel hatch is just a plain 3mm sheet (not the shallow “tray” you sometimes see).

Some parts of the steel is very rusty and this may have pushed the wood off. Other parts are clean, bare metal and the rest has a residue of the original adhesive on it. It looks as though this was just applied to parts of the sheet rather than as a complete covering.

When I have removed the rust, will I need to paint the steel? If so, what paint would be best? Should I use Vactan or similar, first?

Yes you will need to paint the steel after sorting the rust and getting all the old adhesive off.

Vactan/Fertan are a good idea IMHO. Then a proper exterior metal primer, undercoats and topcoats.

Any sensible exterior adhesive- Pink Gripfill, Marineflex or similar. Seal round the edges with a silicone sealant/Marineflex

You might need a new piece of wood too. Treat that with proper yacht varnish from Epifanes or similar

N

Thank BEngo.

The wooden part seems to be in good condition and I doubt I could match the other hatches (I have six) with a replacement.