Volt amps? what's next?

The Ents

Featured Posts

So there we were, rubbing down the paint with a 750 Watt drill. Power was supplied via a Kipor 2000 generator, ( which is, of course,) rated at 1600 KVA. (2000 by name, 1600 by performance? Hmmm.) The generator was plugged into the boat's charger/inverter a Stirling unit. after only three minutes the overload on the generator cut in and the (gas) kettle went on.

The generator was then run powering only the drill and all was well all day.

This suggests to my fuddled brain that the Stirling unit was taking over 850 Watts, at 12 volts allowing for losses, say, 85 amps just to keep my batteries, ( 4 off 110 AH,) going powering only the fridge.

Look it has been a long time since I studied such things, is watts to volt amps factor an issue here, or do I need to look at the demands of my battery bank? The batteries did set the CO alarm off in the heat two weeks ago whilst on shore power.

Any advice gladly received,

Mike.

When the drill is running it draws 560 watts but that is with not load. Soon as you put a load on it the draw will be much more and if you put 25 stone behind it who knows what it will draw.

How do I know you are 25 stone? Pure guess. lol

Edited by bigste

I think the drill rating will be on full load, although it could exceed that if overloaded, I suppose. What state of charge were the batteries? (and do you know what current was going into them?)

There is also the power factor to take into account. Both drill and charger/invertor are likely to be inductive loads, so this will be less than 1, possibly a lot less.

Iain

(who once fried a 4kVA genny with a 3kW welder wacko.png )

When the drill is running it draws 560 watts but that is with not load. Soon as you put a load on it the draw will be much more and if you put 25 stone behind it who knows what it will draw.

How do I know you are 25 stone? Pure guess. lol

Hi bigste,