Finding a Long Term Boat Rental

Amy K

Featured Posts

Hello,

I'm a young professional looking to rent and liveaboard for a 1yr minimum stay, possibly longer.

My grandfather owned a canal boat and I often spent time on it, which is the only boating experience I have but I love the whole process of living aboard, the work and the peace of it.

I'm moving to London soon, and I am desperate to find somewhere to live on the water. I've tried Gumtree, and ApolloDuck, but I feel I'm just scratching the surface. In your experience, what's the best way for me to go about finding somewhere? As I don't have the largest budget in the world, I might have to find a housemate but there don't tend to be many 2 bedroom narrowboats, let alone ones that cost under £900pcm. Perhaps I'm more likely to find somewhere living with a landlord/lady?

Any advice on this matter would be hugely appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Amy

Hi Amy,

Canal boats are seldom rented to people the owner doesn't know.

They are rarely advertised, it tends to be a word of mouth thing. This is because-

There is more risk than a house, more to go wrong so anyone renting prefers to rent to someone they know and trust, usually someone with boating experience.

Although many 'boat landlords' do not realise it, most boat rentals of this nature are illegal. Why?

One needs a commercial license, insurance, a different boat safety certificate and a proper hire base (needs to have it's own parking, refuse disposal, elsan, water etc) in order to rent a boat out legally. Seeing as all CRT moorings do not allow this and probably most marinas and private moorings it can be a non starter.

If anything goes wrong and the insurers find out the boat was rented out, they won't pay.

If you don't know much about boats then this can be very dodgy indeed, seen an onboard fire and a sinking on rented boats in London.

Of course some people do it and get on fine, but I think you need to know the risks.