buying ex-hire boats?

mutters

Featured Posts

Nothing really wrong with ex-hire boats as long as they are sensibly priced but from my experience they rarely are, what Machy says is a fairly typical reaction. What we are never told is how do you 'maintain' a base plate in such a way that it will not be worn through in a few years and all the mechanical bit and pieces how do we stop those from being worn out in a couple of years when in a private boat they may well be good for twenty years or even more.

The hire fleet or the commercial use of cars is a good analogy, when I was a commissioning engineer before most of the motorway system was built I would drive more that 50,000 miles per year, when I took the car back after a year of that kind of use everything about it was knackered, burning oil, jumping out of gear, differential whining, you name it, yet to the poor bloke that would eventually buy it with 15,000 on the clock, it was a nearly new car, no one would ever believe me when I told them that I would wear out a car every year.

A hire boat that has dragged it's way up to Llangollen and back 30 times a year for the last five years with uncaring crews will by any kind of judgement be totally clapped out there is an awful lot of expensive bits in a boat to wear out.

Nothing really wrong with ex-hire boats as long as they are sensibly priced but from my experience they rarely are,

Too right. I looked through some that were linked yesterday and they seem priced higher than any regular second hand boat.

Edited by Jason Wilson and Family

Ours was two owners down the line from the hire company so saved us mucho spondoolees - but still only 9 years old.

However an AngloWelsh boat we looked at was already 16 years old and they still wanted £30k for it - direct from the hire company. :cheers:

But you're right in the sense that there are plenty of second hand not-ex-hire boats out there for the same sort of money, or cheaper. Often younger too!