Boiler & Water heaters .... your thoughts & experience please?

Wombledriver

Featured Posts

Dear All - Hi there ... I am new to the narrowboat world, loving it, learning as I go and keen try and get things right. I would be very grateful if I could get as many different views on boilers and water heaters. Specifically what you think are the best and what the pro's and con's are with going for a water heater ahead of a boiler and vice versa. I have a 53ft narrowboat, with a Squirrel Morsa and currently no hot water heater or boiler. I am contemplating an Alde 3010 with 2 small radiators or an 11 litre Morco Water heater purely for hot water withno addiitonal heating in the boat except maybe a Trumatic warm air blower.

I am interested in all your opinions and some specific experiences on the systems mentioned especially if you have used them or had a similar dilemma?

Cheers

Andy - The Wombledriver

I've got the Alde 3010 and am very pleased with it. It has been in use for 3 years now and has been 100% reliable with no servicing required. It is a lot more efficient than the old Alde 2928, although might not be quite as cheap to run as a diesel boiler. But you do get that reliability and no servicing costs.

Cost for installing is not much different to a diesel either, even allowing for the SS calorifier.

I've got the Alde 3010 and am very pleased with it. It has been in use for 3 years now and has been 100% reliable with no servicing required. It is a lot more efficient than the old Alde 2928, although might not be quite as cheap to run as a diesel boiler. But you do get that reliability and no servicing costs.

Cost for installing is not much different to a diesel either, even allowing for the SS calorifier.

No regular servicing in three years? Is that what the manufacturers say then? Blimey...

PC