Leg two, through the tunnel.

Yamanx

Featured Posts

The plan is to just get through the Standedge Tunnel. Once through there, it should be plain sailing home. But then again I have some experience of bringing back boats.

It was absolutely pouring down when I arrived at Slaithwaite, pronounced “Slowit” by the locals, the rain is not good when you’ve got to work on electrics in order to get the boat going. I got there nice and early Saturday so I could tat around with a few things, get some of the mechanics sorted and the rubbish thrown away. It was raining so hard I sat in the car for ages and apart from unloading the car, did next to nothing until about midday when the rain had stopped. Blimin nuisence. Still I didn’t intend to go anywhere until Sunday Morning anyhow.

The bilge pump and float switch that is rigged up inside the boat pumps any leaking water back into the engine bilge. I intended to extend the hose and get it to pump the water out of the boat. On inspecting in the engine bilge I had indeed been pumping a significant amount of water into the engine compartment and the water level was about half way up the engine. No problem, or so I thought, pumped it all out extended the hose for next time and had a wipe round.

Stripped all the electrics and rubbish charging system out and temporarily fitted in new electrics as far as I needed to start the engine and have some light etc. I was hoping I could save the alternator but if not I had enough battery to cope with whatever we came across.

I then made a fundamental error, I didn’t check the oil.

I started the engine and it started fine, there seemed to be a bit more smoke than I remember so I reved it up a little to clear it. Disaster! The engine went off mad, reving itself flat out. The throttle was useless and the engine stop didn’t work either. I knew straightaway what was happening the engine was runnning off of its own oil from the sump, and flat out without any control.