Liveaboard near Peterborough

junior_7178

Featured Posts

Hello all.

Im just after a bit of advice realy.I know you get these sort of threads all the time but hopefully someone will help me out.

Im thinking of purchasing a narrowboat and becoming a liveaboard.One of the things i have noticed whilst doing my reasearch is that residential moorings are almost impossible to find and was looking very worrying.

Then it dawned on me.I will only be on the boat at weekends and very occasionaly the odd week at a time,because i live at my place of work during the week.

Does this mean i wouldnt need a residential mooring?

Im new to all this so i dont exacly know about the different type of moorings available and what they are called.

The mooring needs to be around Peterborough as that is where i will be working (travelling by car),and idealy i would like to be by the side of a canal rather than in a marina unless there are other Liveabords there.As im not going to be on bord all the time i would like to have other people around for security when im not there.

Does anyone have any suggestions where i could start looking or who to contact?

One last thing is size of boat.As i want to keep my costs down,will a 45ft "ish" narrowboat suit a single person as a Liveaboard,bearing in mine i'll only be on board a few days a week,or does the size not realy make much different to running costs and i could just start out with a 60ft boat.

Any replies greatfully accepted :wacko:

Then it dawned on me.I will only be on the boat at weekends and very occasionaly the odd week at a time,because i live at my place of work during the week.

Does this mean i wouldnt need a residential mooring?

Correct.

Some marinas place a limit on how many weekends you stay on your boat, some don't - just remember to check.