Blacking pickle

Featured Posts

Hi,

I've bought an unfinished project from someone that bought it as an unfinished project of someone who shotblasted and repainted it.

That last blacking/shotblast was over 5 years ago and the boat has not been in the water since it was done.

I have decided that prior to making wet, I need to reblack my bottom (Springer 27ft with V hull) and simply can not afford to shotblast it.

What do I do?

The current blacking appears OKish, one side has been in the sun for years and it's gone a bit sparkly, the other side is normal.

I was thinking of giving it a good rubbing down with a wire brush and rolling on a couple of coats of bitumen. Is this a good idea?

This is my first time blacking a narrowboat, is it acceptable to use warmed bitumen, like the roofing stuff? I understand coal-tar is a no-no, right?

all you need to do is slap a couple of coats of bitcho on it wire brushing/rubbing it down wont do anything except clog your paper and brushes up johnsons paints bitumen paint is around £9/10 a gallon2 gallon should just about do it use a big roller its easier nice and thick but no runs

You could go around it with an angle grinder or drill with a wire wheel attachment just to get any loose stuff off (wear goggles). At the very least I'd pressure wash it and allow it to dry before slapping on the new blacking. There's no need to warm the blacking - but buy the proper stuff - a basic boat blacking for steel. I can't see the point of using roof bitumen - how much money will you save?

Edited by blackrose

You could go around it with an angle grinder or drill with a wire wheel attachment just to get any loose stuff off (wear goggles). At the very least I'd pressure wash it and allow it to dry before slapping on the new blacking. There's no need to warm the blacking - but buy the proper stuff - a basic boat blacking for steel. I can't see the point of using roof bitumen - how much money will you save?