Replacing Eberspacher fuel pipe coupling

Featured Posts

This weekend I serviced my Eberspacher by following that rather good Steev Stamford YouTube video. And for the first time in months the unit fired up today. clapping.gif

There is a diesel leak from the coupling that joins the external fuel pipe to the Eber unit which I've been monitoring for several months. As part of the service I loosened the offending coupling, cleaned it up and applied some non-setting gasket goop, then tightened it back up as a last ditch repair before finally resolving to replace the couplings if I must. As soon as the diesel shut off valve was released it stared dripping again. It drips about once every seven seconds. So I've decided to replace the coupling altogether.

Trouble is I'm not entirely sure on the size or type I need. This link is to the manual I found online: http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=10&ved=0CHEQFjAJ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.blakkur.is%2Fskjol%2Fheimasida%2Fhydronic4_5.pdf&ei=qerbUreaHOT4ygPH4oCwAw&usg=AFQjCNGRcmVstRHr_b45eeJGDbdbrjxbzg

Pages 35 and 36 show parts 8 through to 11 which is the area in question. Page 36 talks about a 9mm clamp, a 3.5mm hose and a 2mm fuel line. I'm confused when you compare it to my set up.

My photo here shows the top of the actual fuel pipe itself and the coupling that is currently attached to it.

6bkm.jpg

Ignore the mallet - just my little joke as what I was tempted to fine tune the Eberspacher with when I first uninstalled it! wink.png You can see top left that there is a brass coupling connecting the copper fuel line to the Eber. My number 10 spanner fits this coupling. And it's this I need to replace.